Amma Series

Amma, Tell Me About Raksha Bandhan!

Children love Raksha Bandhan but do they know how this tradition began? Join the siblings Klaka and Kiki as they celebrate Rakhi with their sister Maya and hear Amma narrates the stories behind the festival - of what Lakshmi had to do to get her husband back, of how Indra emerged victorious after nearly losing a battle and how Rabindranath Tagore foiled a well laid plan of the British empire. For ages 2 to 8. Written in rhyme with vibrant, captivating illustrations.

A promise to love and to protect
Is sealed by the special thread of Rakhi.
Learn how this lovey tradition began
With Amma, Klaka and little Kiki.

How Vishnu taught arrogant Bali a lesson;
A story about Indra, the God of Lightning.
Learn the power of this special thread and how
Tagore used it to stop brothers from fighting.


Rated 4.33 out of 5 based on 3 customer ratings
(3 customer reviews)


Rated 5 out of 5


3 lovely stories about Rakshabandhan - My 6 year old son is a big fan of the Amma Tell Me series, and we are constantly on the lookout for her book releases. Can safely say that we've got all titles in the series. The Rakshabandhan book, which is the latest title, doesn't disappoint either. As a parent what I like about these books is that there's always more content than just the basic story of Diwali/Holi/Rakshabandhan in there. The Rakshabandhan book even has a story about Rabindranath Tagore and the festival. I love to discuss Indian mythology and culture with my children, and the story plus illustrations make for very good bedtime reading.

Rated 3 out of 5

Swati Aggarwal

Nice book on rakshabandhan - This book of rakshabandhan not only covers the basic story but also other facts related to this festival from our history. My little one loves reading ammatellme series and this wonderful book from bhakti Mathur.

Rated 5 out of 5

Wanna be Supermom

Great book explaining this tradition - My 6yo Really enjoyed this book. I did as well. Learned more about this tradition which was awesome. We Love this series.

Other books in this series